Lin-Manuel Miranda, maghanda ka ng ng tux mo dahil for sure na ang nominations mo sa Oscars next year. Hungganda ng mga songs dito sa #moana especially yung mandatory soaring Disney princess song “How Far I’ll Go”. Though anthemic rin ang feel nito just like “Let It Go” from Frozen, iba itong “How Far I’ll Go”. Mas Broadway siya nang slight at mas mahirap kantahin habang nakasabit sa estribo ng jeep na byaheng Pasig-Qiapo. Aminin , bet niyo siyang gawin with wind in your hair.

 

But i’m getting ahead of myself.

 

We watched #Moana sa 4D cinema sa BGC because of a friend who posted that she took her son to watch it there and I thought Moana would be as good a movie as any to break our 4D virginity.

 

In short, inggitero lang ako.

 

Novel experience siya. Nung una na ba-bother ako na galaw nang galaw yung silya, hindi ako makafocus sa movie. But once I gave myself to it, naging mas immersive yung movie for me. More than IMAX dito ko na-feel beyond watching a movie, i was in it.

 

May mga eksenang nagpa-pan or nagti-tilt ang POV and the seats moved along with it. Or sa eksena sa forest biglang mag-aamoy bulaklak. Or sa chase scene sa dagat biglang may paeffect na mamasa-masang ocean breeze. Or at least i believe na planned ocean breeze effect lang yun dahil the other possibilities are  just kadiri. Hwark!

 

It is the first time in a long while na i laughed out loud in a movie, not just because of the humor on the screen but because of  being pleasantly surprised. It was like being taken along on a journey. It may just have spoiled me from any other cinema experience. I shall be watching the next Meryl Streep movie on 4D i swear. Charot.

 

Adventure movie ang Moana and i think it would be more engaging for boys than Frozen. Aside from the presence ng voice ni Dwayne the Rock Johnson bilang isang makulit na demigod Maui, young boys could just as easily identify with Moana more than they could with either Elsa or Anna sa malakas na desire ni Moana to break convention, may indominatable spirit siya, pasaway rin siya and basically coz she doesnt wear a princess gown.

 

Of course there are boys who would  identify more with Elsa and her one sided braid pero ibang usapan yun.

 

Wala ring love angle kembot between Moana and Maui. Given that Moana would probably be a girl in her early to mid teens and Maui is portrayed  as an overgrown adolescent demi-boygod who happens to be thousands of years old, the writers could easily written in a love angle between the two pero dedma. This is about someone reaching out for her dreams, and that dream does not include a jowa at this particular time. Maybe later ok.

 

The humor sa Moana is hip and very self aware. May joke about twitter. May joke about the characters knowing that they are in a musical and anytime pwede silang bumunghalit ng kanta. And of course meron comedic sidekick in the form of a malditerang piglet at manok na may special needs.

 

At kung nakulangan pa kayo ng cuteness factor, may lengthy seabattle sina Moana at Maui versus three galleons of piratang buko… oo buko as in coconut na buko… piratang buko na cute. Malamang macapuno sila mutant. Question lang, ang piratang buko ba pag tumanda nagiging kopra rin? Charot.

 

Regarding performance naman, in fair kay The Rock huh, magaling kumanta ang hitod. Nagra-rap pa. Thouroughly enjoy yung song na “You’re Welcome” not just for the melody and the fun visuals but also for the gung-ho energy ni The Rock the pag-kanta. Naramdaman ko siya.

 

Magaling yung nagvoice ng lola dahil hindi pala siya tunay na major lola. At yung acapella song niya near the end is so full of emotion.Si Nicole Sherzinger hindi ko masyadong naramdaman kasi iisa lang ang kanta ng nanay character niya. At feeling ko hindi siya masaya na Nicole Sherzinger siya pero hindi sa kanya pinakanta ang Disney princess song. Sorry naman.

 

Yung bidang voice na si Auli’i Cravalho naman has the vocal chops. Though hinanaphanap ko siya yung crystalline quality ng boses ni Lea Salonga or yung unbridled power ni Idina Menzel sa kanta, she delivered enough emotion to make me cry. Oo umiyak ako dito to the tune of “How Far I’ll Go”.

 

Nung kinanta niya yung unang version ng song medyo nagmoist na eyes ko. Nung nag-reprise, more emotionally powerful ang rendition so tumulo na ang luha, though nagpigil ako. Nung third time na kinanta yung same melody  bilang “I Am Moana” feeling ko napagtulungan ako ng boses nina lola at Auli’i  at ng words ni Lin-Manuel dahil gumive up na ako sa pagpipigil.Cryola. Hinayaan ko na lang ang sarili kong umiyak ang umiyak hanggang matapos yung movie. Oo hanggang credits. Such a crybaby pala ako, lech.

 

I totally enjoyed the movie, one of very few movies  wouldn’t mind seeing it again. And in fact, i might just this weekend ulit.

 

 

